Once again did not meet the release-deadline. This made me to switching the development mode. Still I want to stay lean and agile, but at the same time also tight deadlines should be no problem at all. There is a solution to this: Kanban. The goal is to “limit work in progress“. To achieve this goal, workpackages get smaller and faster done. I made the switch some days ago, and it’s really useful! By the way: my original deadline was far away from being realistic at all, just wanted to get into the groove of ultra-ultra-tight deadlines.

With Kanban now I have one internal release every Friday. The first feedback from my own Kanban is, that I totally underestimated the task of “figuring out things” at the iPhone SDK. This SDK is huge and I spend lot of time with stuff like “how to do this” or experiences I get by try-and-error. For example: UITabBarItems are unable to show colored pictures -> UISegmentControl does this, TabBar-Items just love greyscale!

More cool resources on lean, agile and Kanban I found at agile.soup.io.

Stay lean, stay happy!

0 Comments April 11, 2010