The January 2014 was a blast: a month full of work, creativity and productivity. The month started unter the impression of two insanely great events (where I made some live VJing as well). First The Ultimate Meeting 2013 (Demoscene Party) and the New Years Eve at Digitac e.V..

Right from the start events were rushing in. At the PASSAGEN14 Alexander Speckmann and I made a projection mapping and at the same time we made at Dingfabrik our first exhibition, our first party and lots of workshops again.

For the projection we took a deep step into OpenFrameworks (my new love, nothing can beat C++)! There is a documentation of the projection mapping project pending. I’ll post it when it will be ready.

The Dingfabrik-party was also a blast. My idea was to try out something new and to make a sort of party, where “things” were standing in the center, instead of just music and booze. I think the whole thing was really successful – we had a acapella choir, Stoffel and I made a small “Drehkommando” (live improvisation on electronic music gadgets), a instant photo machine, that was extremely fun! Not to mention, that I made some live VJing later that night…

January was still not over. The Global Game Jam was coming – and this year it was just so full of awesome – hard to describe. All contributions from the 120 participants at the Cologne Game Lab were great. 2+ hours of presentations, really every contribution was unique with much highlights in between. I also made a game and I am very happy with the result: Sea of Rock, Paper and Scissors – the best Rock, Paper, Scissors Textadventure, that can live in any console! Get it on github! And yes, it runs on a Raspberry Pi, too. Feel free to contribute – I also wrote a little game-design-document.

January still not over! I spent the rest of the month hacking a DMX-control in JavaScript for this still unannounced huge art-project we are working an. And I started a nice little tool together with Thömmes “slogmen” Schrader. The idea is to make a music live coding tool in Ruby, inspired by livecoding in general and by Sonic Pi and Overtone. The development is very early, but there is already a public repository on github: SuperSonic. The name of this project might change.

If productivity will be on that level through 2014, than this will be a good year!

0 Comments February 2, 2014