I got often asked, if you can code music on the fly without stopping the output. The short answer ist: yes. Use use threads to sync single channels and defines to dynamically overwrite single sound-commands.

In fact, you’ll need a little code-overhead, but once you mastered this technique, live improvisation of live-coded music is possible. I made this video-screencast, that shows how to do it! Feel free to share.

3 Comments November 11, 2014

We like to talk to you! Readers have left 3 comments. Join them.

  1. […] Next I made a videocast explaining how to sync threads in Sonic Pi. […]

  2. Could you paste the code into your example? That would help trying your tutorial.

  3. admin said:

    Oh, I haven’t saved that code… Maybe I’ll find the time to redo it, then I will also share the code!